Search

Leave of absence made its appearance in the 2016 election with two states passing paid sick leave measures, Arizona and Washington.  Arizona’s law is effective July 1, 2017 and Washington’s law is effective January 1, 2018. These two states’ paid sick leave laws now join 5 other states that require employers to offer paid time off for:

  • treating or diagnosing an employee’s or family member’s illness, injury, or health condition or preventative care;
  • a closure of the employee’s workplace or employee’s child’s school or daycare by order of a public official; and
  • certain absences related to domestic violence.

Arizona also allows an employee to use paid sick leave when an employee or the employee’s family member’s health might jeopardize the health of others due to the exposure of a communicable disease.

The details of each law’s accrual and usage are below as well as links to each new law for more details.

Washington – Initiative Measure No. 1433

Accrual or frontloading: Employees accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked. An employer can frontload employees’ paid sick leave as long as the employee can carryover any unused paid sick leave at the end of the year.

Accrual cap and usage cap: Washington’s law does not have a cap for accrual nor a cap for how much paid sick leave an employee can use in a single year.

Carryover: Employers must allow employees to carry over up to 40 hours of earned, unused paid sick leave.

Covered family member: Employees may use paid sick leave for a covered reason for the following family members: children, parents, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandparents, grandchildren, and siblings.

Arizona – Proposition 206

Accrual or frontloading: Employees accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Employers can frontload paid sick leave up to the accrual cap but the employer must pay employees for unused paid sick leave at the end of each year, unless the employer allows carryover of unused time.

Accrual cap and usage cap: Employers with 15 or more employees can cap accrual and use at 40 hours per year; employers with less than 15 employees can cap accrual and use at 24 hours of paid sick leave per year.

Carryover: Arizona’s paid sick leave law allows employees to carry over paid sick leave balances from one year to the next, subject to the limitations on usage set forth in the law. It is not clear if there is a cap to the amount an employee can carry over to the next year. An employer may choose to opt out of carryover if it chooses to frontload paid sick leave with an end-of-year payout for unused time.

Covered family member: Employees may use paid sick leave for a covered reason for the following family members: children, parents, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, or any other person related by blood or affinity whose is the equivalent of an employee’s family member.

Overwhelmed by the pace of new laws?  ReedGroup provides up-to-the-minute information through our online compliance tool, LeaveAdvisor. For more information, and access to a free trial, please click here. Or contact us at 800-347-7443.

Previous Oregon Paid Sick Leave – 4th time’s a charm!
Next Paid Sick Leave Update: City and State Laws Come Under Fire